top of page

2022 nominated films  online for 36 hours

best short film playlist

best long form playlist

best student film playlist

best music video playlist

best performance playlist

best technical achievement playlist

all nominees3.png

2020 sifa nominees

Best Short Film Nominees

aen loo pawatamihk by Dianne Ouellette
The Antler by Jeffrey Altwasser & Jeremy Davis

Eden Paige - Save Me by Dylan Hryciuk

Eidolon by Mike Rollo 

The Millionaire's Burger by Rob White

My Masterpiece by Gavin Baird

On Edge by Marzia Kamyabi

Best Student Film Nominees:

Sensory by Calic Tolentino

T R I B A L by DJ Carnegie 

Best Feature Film Nominees:

The Caring Only Cry at Night by Gavin Baird

Nolan: Here Nor There by Wilfred Dieter & dustan j. hlady

Best Web Series Nominees:

Adventures in Painting by Greg Hargarten

Porous by Amber Goodwyn (Natural Sympathies)

Best Performance Nominees:

Charlee Bigknife - Nolan: Here Nor There

Ada Perez Hidalgo - The Caring Only Cry at Night

Chengis Javeri - The Caring Only Cry at Night

Braden Jon King - Nolan: Here Nor There

Bongani Musa - The Caring Only Cry at Night


Technical Achievement Nominees:

aen loo pawatamihk - Cinematography

aen loo pawatamihk - Sound Design

The Caring Only Cry at Night - Cinematography

Eidolon - Editing

My Masterpiece - Production Design

Porous - Production Design

2019 sifa nominees

Best Short Film Nominees

ahkâmêyimo nitânis (Keep Going My Daughter) - Candy Fox

The Diggers - George Hupka

Magdaleena - Elian Mikkola

Unfold - John Graham

Best Student Film Nominees:

A Man Replaced - Joel Tabak

Follow Leader - Scott Johnson

My World Is No Longer The World I Knew - Weiye Su

Prairie Dreams - DJ Carnegie

To Call My Own - Morgan Jones

Best Feature Film Nominees:

Audacity - Jeremy Cole Bastian

Begonia - Gavin Baird

Run Wolf, Run - Carli Robertson

Best Web Series Nominees:

Pieces: Camp - Sophie Kokott

Rock Bottom - Rick Anthony

Best Acting Nominees:

Sage Dent - Begonia

Kylie Jade - Slight

Aksa Korttila - Magdaleena

Trillian Reynoldson - Begonia

Andrew Valdez - Pagliacci


Technical Achievement Nominees:

Gavin Baird, Cinematography - Begonia

Dylan Crosby & Kyler Wilton, Editing - Good Morning

Morgan Jones, Creative Use of Imaging - To Call My Own

Elian Mikkola, Sound Design - Magdaleena

Ava Wild, Score - The Acreage & The Ambush

2018 sifa nominees

Best Short Film Nominees

A Focused Portrait of Hartley Smith - Kolby Kostyniuk

Greg Allen’s Supernatural Sasquatch - Jeremy Ratzlaff

Being - John Graham

The Lost Art of Inertia - Gerald Saul

Four in a Blanket - Gavin Baird

Farewell Transmission - Mike Rollo

Bad Poetry: Megan Nash - Aaron Sinclair

Best Student Film Nominees:

Beta Test - Joel Makar and Kenton Evenson

Sir Bailey - Matt Ripplinger

Moonshine Acres - Joel Kereluke

Der Jude - Spencer Zimmerman

Best Feature Film Nominees:

The Big Gust! - Gavin BairdSuperGrid - Hugh Patterson and Lowell DeanBook of Trespasses - Jared Berry, Gareth Nicol and Larry ParsonsThe Matter of Ronnie Goldblatt - Ian GoldbergThe Tipping Point - Jacob Stebner

Best Acting Nominees:

Matthew Burgess - Book of Trespasses
Trillian Reynoldson - The Big Gust!
Josh Strait - Beta Test
Mooky Cornish - 5 O'Clock
Andrew Valdez - Merry What?
Leo Fafard - SuperGrid


Technical Achievement Nominees:

Michael Jari Davidson, Cinematography - SuperGrid

Matt Ripplinger, Film Manipulation - Sir Bailey

Chencheng Pu, Visual Effects - Beta Test

Andrea-Jane Cornell, Sound Design - Farewell Transmission

Gavin Baird, Production Design - Four in a Blanket

Gerald Saul, Editing - The Lost Art of Inertia

Tiess McKenzie, Musical Score - A Focused Portrait of Hartley Smith

2017 sifa nominees

Best Short Film Nominees:

Gas Can - Mattias Graham

The Flats - Ian Campbell

From Up North - Trudy Stewart

Eyes of Sorrow Moon - Gerald Saul

Under the Same Sky - Sylvia Ziemann

Best Student Film Nominees:

A Moment Gone By - Timothy Merasty

Doktor Ripp - Matthew Ripplinger

Separate Beds - Layton Burton

Home Sewn - Morgan Jones

Evelyn & I - Weiye Su

Best Feature Film Nominees:

Talent - Lucas Frison

Josi Victoria: A Complicated Masquerade - Ken Dalgarno

Rigger - Dianne Ouellette

Best Acting Nominees:

Natalie Lazarou - Talent

Mark Claxton - Doktor Ripp

Anna Mazurik - The Tinwife

Logan Vanghel - Heistery

Shawn Koch - Heistery


Technical Achievement Nominees:

Layton Burton, Cinematography - Talent

Joel Tabak, Cinematography - Doktor Ripp

Devin McAdam, Cinematography - The Tinwife

Travis Neufeld, Production Design - The Tinwife

Kevin Drysdale, Editing - Separate Beds

Layton Burton, Production Design - Separate Beds

Ian Campbell, Production Design - The Flats

2016 sifa nominees

Best Short Film Nominees:

Please Rate Your Experience - Jeremy Ratzlaff

Trio - John Graham

Der Glockner - Chrystene Ells and Berny Hi

Ilsa the Far Seer - Ian Campbell

Lookout - Kyath Battie

Best Student Film Nominees:

It’s Good for You! - An An

Dreamers - Kolby Kostyniuk

SAARI - Ella Mikkola

Time Frame - Joel Kereluke

Best Feature Film Nominees:

The Sabbatical - Brian Stockton

VOUS ETES ICI - Mark Wihak

The Land of Rock and Gold - Daniel Redenbach and Janine Windolph

Patient 62 - Rick Anthony

Voice from the Wilderness - Jason Britski

Basic Human Needs - Matt Yim

Best Acting Nominees:

Laura Abramsen - Basic Human Needs

Charity Bradfield - The Land of Rock and Gold

James Whittingham - The Sabbatical

Ron Anderson - Dreamers

Abby Thiessen - Stigma

Best Technical Achievement:

Jason Cullimore, Score - Der Glockner

Ella Mikkola, Picture and Sound Editing - SAARI

Pulsewidth, Score - The Land of Rock and Gold

Berny Hi, Director of Photography - Please Rate Your Experience

SIFA 2015

sifa 2014


bottom of page